You are here: Home > Presidency > President


Michel Temer - photo

Michel Temer

Michel Temer took office as President of the Republic on 31 August 2016 after the Senate approved the proceeding to impeach and remove President Dilma Rousseff from the presidency. During the period Rousseff was suspended pending the result of the impeachment proceeding, Temer was acting President for 111 days. With the confirmation of Rousseff's impeachment by the Senate, Temer takes office as President until 31 December 2018. He was Speaker of the Chamber of Deputies (1997 - 1999, 1999 - 2001 and 2009 - 2010). He is on leave from the presidency of the national PMDB (Brazilian Democratic Movement Party), to which he was elected on 09/11/2001 and re-elected five more times: on 04/14/2004, 14/03/2007, 02/06/2010, 03/02/2013 and 03/12/2016.

Click here to see the full biography